top of page

Las Meninas 2.0

My favourite and most drastically breath-taking exhibit I have seen in a long time is that of one of the last rooms in the Saatchi gallery's route. In this room, multiple screens and tablet devices had been set up along the walls displaying reproductions of famous artworks on screen, but hung as if they were the real thing. This was bafflingly simple and enjoyable to view as most of the works covered I have not seen before and to see them like this (ok, nowhere near the original) was exhilarating and just as good. Now the case needs to be made that there can be no comparison to seeing the real work hung on the wall, even if it is a superficial need to see the artefact touched by these famous hands. However, this entire experience was destroyed and rebuilt singularly by seeing a full scale reproduction across six screens set up in a grid of Las Meninas. This work had been a key part of my journey into understanding the different values within art and to see this (even digitally) in person was outstanding. I found myself elated to be stood in front of it and I could not stop smiling. To see this master work displayed in this way was incredible and overall inspiring. I began to think of the potential of this sort of exhibition in the future. My work on my own curatorial project Meanwhile (if your interested, check out the earlier blog posts) led me to co-create a room of digital work projected as if they were traditional paintings hung on the wall. This is definitely an area that fascinates me and I shall be revisiting this within my own practice. Before leaving the room after the L

as Meninas I went back to see it one last time before heading back out into the open air, just outside the Saatchi.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page